Skip to main content

Foundation Stage

The curriculum in the Foundation Stage is based around seven areas of learning.

There are three PRIME areas of learning:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development

These form the basis of all future learning and are a key focus as children start in our nursery.

There are four SPECIFIC areas of learning:

  • Literacy (this includes reading and writing)
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Art and Design.

Foundation Stage staff carefully plan to address all these areas whilst taking into account children's individual needs and interests. Learning takes place through play and exploration in both indoor and outdoor environments. More information can be found in the booklet 'A Parent's guide to the Early Years Foundation Stage' which is available to download using the link below.

File icon: pdf Parents Guide Foundation Stage [pdf 704KB] Click to download